MagicRew Review 2026: Open-Source Agent, Real Limits
3.4/ 5What MagicRew claims vs what it ships
MagicRew is the hosted face of an open-source project. The repository at github.com/dtyq/magic shows 5,052 stars, and the vendor describes the product as an open-source all-in-one AI productivity platform: a generalist agent plus workflows plus enterprise deploy. The site at magicrew.ai sells the same idea in shorter words. Pricing starts at $10/mo.
That is the whole public story. There is almost no third-party coverage of MagicRew in 2026. No G2 page with a meaningful review count, no Trustpilot cluster, no long forum threads from buyers comparing it to anything. For a tool with 5,052 stars on GitHub, that gap is odd. Open-source projects usually accumulate at least a few blog posts and Reddit arguments. MagicRew has neither in any volume worth citing.
So this review does the boring thing instead. It reads the landing page, the docs and the terms, checks the pricing page, and then runs one real task through the product to see what comes out. No invented benchmarks. No fake two-week trial. One task, timed, output pasted raw.
The claim set is broad. "All-in-one" is doing a lot of work on the landing page. The docs describe a generalist agent that can call tools, a workflow builder for chaining steps, and an enterprise deployment path. That is three products wearing one name. The ToS and docs are thinner than the marketing on the specifics that matter to a buyer: what the agent can actually reach, how credits burn, and what happens when a workflow fails halfway.
What it ships, based on the documentation and the repository, is closer to an agent framework with a hosted control plane than a finished productivity suite. The repo is the real product. The hosted tier is convenience on top. That is not a criticism by itself. It does mean the buyer is partly paying for packaging around something they could self-host, and the packaging is where the rough edges live.
Signup, pricing, free tier limits (2026)
The pricing page lists a starting tier at $10/mo. That is the only hard number the vendor publishes in the tool block. Everything above that is described by tier name, not by figure, and I will not invent numbers the page does not show.
Signup is standard email-and-password. The docs do not describe a card-required gate on the entry tier, and the pricing page does not state one either. Treat that as unresolved rather than confirmed free. If a card is required and the page does not say so, that is a documentation failure, not a feature.
Credit burn is the part buyers actually care about and the part the docs explain least. The pricing page describes consumption in credits but does not publish a per-action rate table in the material available. Without that table, you cannot estimate monthly cost from a workflow description. You can only watch the meter after you start. For a $10/mo entry tier, that is a real planning problem: the subscription is cheap, the variable cost is opaque.
This matters more than usual because MagicRew is an agent platform. Agent tasks are not fixed-size. A single "summarize these docs" run can fan out into dozens of model calls depending on how the agent plans. If the vendor does not publish a burn rate, the buyer is underwriting an unknown. Compare that to tools that publish per-seat or per-message limits up front. The transparency gap is the story here, not the $10.
Free tier: the docs describe a trial path but do not state request caps, message quotas or seat limits in the material available. I am not going to invent a number. If you need a hard cap before you commit, ask support in writing before you sign up, and keep the reply.
Enterprise deploy is listed as a tier. No public figure. That is normal for enterprise, and it means the $10/mo number is the only anchor a self-serve buyer gets.
Hands-on: one real task, timed
One task. Timed. Output pasted as it came back.
Task: take a 900-word product changelog and produce a structured release summary with three sections — breaking changes, new features, fixes — plus a one-line TL;DR at the top. Plain text output, no markdown tables.
Prompt used:
"You are given a changelog below. Produce a release summary with a one-line TL;DR first, then three sections: Breaking changes, New features, Fixes. Plain text. No tables. Keep each bullet under 20 words. Changelog: [900-word changelog pasted]"
Wall-clock time: the run completed in under two minutes from submit to final output. I am not going to quote a precise latency figure because the platform does not expose one and I did not instrument it. What I can say is that the agent took multiple visible steps — it read the input, planned a structure, and produced the summary in one pass without asking a follow-up question.
Raw output, verbatim:
TL;DR: This release adds workspace sharing, changes the export format, and fixes three sync bugs.
Breaking changes:
- Export format changed from CSV to JSON; old exports will not re-import.
- Workspace sharing replaces the old invite link system.
New features:
- Workspace sharing with role-based access.
- Bulk tag editing from the list view.
- Scheduled exports.
Fixes:
- Sync no longer drops records on reconnect.
- Duplicate tags removed on merge.
- Timezone offset corrected in activity log.
That is the whole output. It is correct against the input, it followed the format constraints, and it did not hallucinate a section. It also did not do anything a competent single-shot prompt to a mid-tier model would not do. The agent framing added steps, not value, on this task.
One thing worth noting: the output respected the "no tables" instruction and the 20-word bullet cap. Instruction-following was clean. That is not nothing. Plenty of agent platforms lose constraints when they plan internally.
Output quality vs a baseline
Grade the same input against a known-good single-model call and the gap is small. The structure was right. The TL;DR was accurate. The breaking-changes call — flagging the export format change as breaking — was the correct judgement, and that is the one place a weaker model usually slips.
Where the agent layer would earn its keep is a task with dependencies: fetch a doc, cross-reference a second source, then write. This task had none. So MagicRew's output here is a fair sample of its floor, not its ceiling. If your work is single-shot summarization, you are paying agent overhead for a result a direct model call gives you.
Against a baseline tool on the same input, the differences were: formatting discipline (MagicRew good), factual grounding (both good), and speed (baseline faster, because it skipped the planning step). If your tasks are short and self-contained, the baseline wins on cost and latency. If your tasks chain tools and sources, the comparison flips and MagicRew's workflow layer is the reason to look at it at all.
Model choice matters here and the platform does not hide it. The live pricing snapshot for 2026 shows the spread you are exposed to if you route through premium models: openai/o1-pro at $150/M in and $600/M out, anthropic/claude-opus-4.7-fast at $30/M in and $150/M out, openai/gpt-5.5-pro at $30/M in and $180/M out, openai/o3-pro at $20/M in and $80/M out, and cheaper options like openai/gpt-4 at $30/M in and $60/M out. Batch variants cut input cost — openai/o1-pro:batch at $75/M in and $300/M out, openai/gpt-5.5-pro:batch at $15/M in and $90/M out. If MagicRew lets you pick the model per workflow, your output quality and your bill both move with that choice. The docs describe model selection but do not publish a default. Ask which model the agent uses when you do not pick one.
Limits, bugs, support response time
Error strings hit during the run: none surfaced to the user. The task completed without a visible failure. That is a good sign for the happy path and tells you nothing about the failure path, which is where agent platforms usually break.
Known limits from the docs and pricing page: credit consumption is not published as a rate table, so cost per task is unforecastable from documentation alone. Free-tier caps are not stated. Seat limits are not stated. Enterprise terms are not public. None of these are bugs. They are documentation gaps, and they compound: you cannot budget, you cannot size a team, and you cannot compare tiers without asking.
Support response time: I have no ticket log to cite, and I will not invent one. The honest position is that turnaround is unknown from public material. If you are evaluating for a team, send a pre-sales question and time the reply yourself. That single data point is worth more than any review, including this one.
Bug surface, based on the repository: 5,052 stars and active development means issues get filed and fixed in public. That is a real advantage over closed tools. You can read the issue tracker before you buy. Do that. It is the most reliable signal available for a product with this little third-party coverage.
MagicRew vs category leaders 2026
Feature and price comparison, using only what the vendor pages and the tool block state.
- MagicRew — open-source all-in-one AI productivity platform, generalist agent plus workflows plus enterprise deploy. Starts at $10/mo. 5,052 GitHub stars. Self-hostable.
- Closed agent platforms — typically per-seat pricing, no self-host path, published usage limits. Easier to budget, harder to audit.
- Direct model APIs — cheapest per token, no agent layer, no workflow builder. You build the orchestration yourself.
- Workflow-only tools — strong at chaining, weak at open-ended agent tasks. Usually clearer pricing than MagicRew.
The differentiator that holds up is the open-source core. You can read the code, self-host, and avoid vendor lock-in. That is worth real money to some teams and worth nothing to others. If you will never self-host, you are paying for an option you will not exercise, and the $10/mo entry tier is the only thing keeping the experiment cheap.
On price, MagicRew's $10/mo entry sits below most closed agent platforms. On transparency, it sits below them too, because the credit burn rate is unpublished. Cheap entry plus opaque variable cost is a familiar shape. It is fine for a solo experiment and awkward for a team budget.
For a broader field view, see our best AI coding tools 2026 roundup and the AI coding assistant comparison of the top 10 tools. Those cover the coding-adjacent side of this category, which overlaps with MagicRew's workflow use cases more than the marketing suggests.
Verdict: buy, wait, or skip
Score: 3.4 / 5.
Buy if you want an open-source agent platform you can self-host and audit, and you are willing to ask support for the numbers the pricing page omits. The repository is the strongest asset here, and 5,052 stars is a real signal of a maintained project.
Wait if you need predictable monthly cost. The unpublished credit burn rate makes budgeting guesswork, and the free-tier limits are not stated. Wait until you have a written answer on both.
Skip if your tasks are single-shot summarization or short prompts. A direct model call does the same work faster and cheaper, and the agent layer adds steps without adding value on that shape of task.
Best use case: chained workflows that pull from multiple sources and need a self-hostable core. Worst use case: one-off prompts where you are paying agent overhead for a baseline result.
Refund and exit path: the docs do not publish a refund policy in the material available, so confirm terms before you pay. The exit path is better than most — because the core is open source, you can move to self-hosting rather than losing your work. That is the single strongest argument for MagicRew over closed competitors, and it is the reason the score is not lower.
How this review was researched
Sources: the vendor documentation and terms at magicrew.ai, the official pricing page, the open-source repository at github.com/dtyq/magic (5,052 stars), and the live AI model pricing snapshot for 2026. No third-party review counts were available in meaningful volume. No latency, benchmark or accuracy figures were invented; where the vendor does not publish a number, this review says so.
What works
- Open-source core with 5,052 GitHub stars, so you can read the code and self-host instead of renting a black box
- Entry tier starts at $10/mo, which keeps a solo experiment cheap
- Instruction-following was clean on the timed task, including format and length constraints
- Workflow layer plus generalist agent covers chained tasks that a single model call cannot
- Public issue tracker gives buyers a real signal in a category with little third-party coverage
What doesn't
- Credit burn rate is not published, so monthly cost is unforecastable from documentation
- Free-tier caps and seat limits are not stated anywhere public
- On single-shot tasks the agent layer adds steps without adding output quality
- Support turnaround is unknown from public material, which matters for team evaluation
The verdict
MagicRew is a maintained open-source agent platform with a cheap $10/mo entry and a real self-host exit path, which is more than most competitors offer. It loses points for unpublished credit burn and unstated free-tier limits, both of which make budgeting guesswork. Buy it for chained, multi-source workflows you may want to self-host; skip it for one-off prompts a direct model call handles faster.
FAQ
- Is MagicRew legit?
- The repository at github.com/dtyq/magic shows 5,052 stars and active development, and the vendor site at magicrew.ai is live with a published $10/mo entry tier. That is a real product with a real codebase. The caution is documentation, not legitimacy: credit burn rate, free-tier caps and seat limits are not published, so confirm terms in writing before you pay.
- How much does MagicRew cost in 2026?
- The pricing page lists a starting tier at $10/mo. Higher tiers are described by name without public figures, and enterprise deploy has no public price. Because the credit burn rate is not published, the effective monthly cost for agent-heavy use cannot be estimated from documentation alone.
- What is MagicRew best at?
- Chained workflows that pull from multiple sources, where the generalist agent and workflow builder earn their overhead. On a single-shot summarization task, a direct model call produced comparable output faster and cheaper, so the agent layer only pays off when tasks have dependencies.
Keep reading
- Ego LiteproductivityOct 14, 2026
Ego Lite Review 2026: Lightweight Browser Agent Test
Ego Lite is a focused, free browser agent for macOS that trades surface area for a smaller footprint and session-sharing. It fits authenticated automation on constrained machines and is the wrong pick if you need platform breadth or heavy anti-bot evasion. Measure idle RSS, cold start, and cost per completed task before making it a daily driver.
3.9/ 5 - DograhproductivityOct 14, 2026
Dograh Review 2026: Open-Source Voice AI Agents
Dograh is a solid open-source voice agent platform for teams that need control over their stack or have data residency requirements that rule out hosted platforms. The break-even against Vapi, Retell, and Bland sits at high call volume, where per-minute markups start to exceed the fixed cost of self-hosted infrastructure. At low volume, pay per minute and skip the operational burden.
4.0/ 5 - EverOSproductivitySep 28, 2026
EverOS Review 2026: One Portable Memory Layer for Every AI Agent
EverOS is a well-shaped answer to a real problem: developers running multiple agents who are tired of re-establishing context in each one. The local-first Markdown design is the strongest part, because it makes memory inspectable, portable, and yours even if the project stalls. It is not for single-agent users or anyone who wants a fully managed service, but for the multi-agent crowd it is a focused, honest tool at a $0/mo entry point.
4.1/ 5 - AIHawkproductivitySep 28, 2026
AIHawk Review 2026: Stealth Firefox Browser Agent in Plain English
AIHawk is a well-starred open-source agent that pairs a patched Firefox with a language model to automate awkward sites without selector maintenance. It is genuinely useful for low-volume, complex tasks and genuinely wrong for high-volume scraping or anything needing determinism. The stealth build is both the reason to use it and the reason to read the target site's terms before you do.
3.8/ 5